A Board Known As The Ouija

The night was calm, dark and still. To this day, I remember it extremely well. However, many a year ago, it was a Saturday, a horror story of bold. Two other girls and I, together we were three, collected around a board known as the Ouija. Slowly, we placed our fingertips upon a small piece of wood called the planchette, dreading impending moments of regret, with fears of memories we wouldn’t forget.

With bated breath we deeply inhaled, then proceeded to ask things in great detail. For with the hereafter we wanted to converse, in a series of questions that were unrehearsed, like “is there anyone here?” and “how did you die?”. Then seconds later we got a reply. As scary as it was we were told “yes”. One simple word that made us become speechless. For we weren’t the ones who had replied, it was quite obvious by the fear in our eyes.

We continued with questions of more and we were answered with terror galore. With whom we had reached from the other side, was trying to come through with nothing to hide. Their answers were clear and their actions then too, for they were knocking over candles in the adjoining room. A room unoccupied with only a dim glow except for the entity’s unwanted show. Their presence was felt with heavy intent and we three girls were starting to resent unleashing this darkness that wasn’t fervent.

We stopped that night all due to fright and quickly put the board away locked up and tight. Our hearts raced without skipping a beat from what we had just witnessed that made the facts concrete. And even though it’s been so many years since that night with the swelling of tears, never again in front of me has there ever been another board known as the Ouija.

 

(A poem by Sheila Renee Parker inspired by one of her actual                                                                         paranormal experiences.)

 

Get a copy of my novel, The Spirit Within on Amazon!

~ Sheila Renee Parker on Twitter: @sheilarparker.

~ Sheila Renee Parker on Facebook: Sheila Renee Parker – Author

 

oui

18 thoughts on “A Board Known As The Ouija

  1. Instantaneous goosebumps just from seeing that word, and I knew you would tell a good story, Sheila, and based on truth–Good! I one time experienced “The Three Kings” in the middle of the night, and, believe me, I stopped what I was doing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it, love it love it!!! I was 5, yet I remember it clearly to this day. I was sitting on the piano bench with my brother. My sisters were at the table with the Ouija board and were using a crystal class as the planchette. They asked a few questions and got answers apparently, but what I remember clearly is all the music on the piano flying at me and my brother, and the crystal planchette flying into the fire place (with no human help). I’m dead serious, this is what happened. We didn’t say goodbye as far as I know and to the day we moved out, that house never felt right.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

